What hope after the suicide of a loved one?

14 September 2022

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Send by mail Imprimer

Suicide is a serious gesture, yet the Church invites us not to despair of the salvation of those who have taken their own lives and to pray for them. Can they enter salvation?  Does the Church condemn suicide?The rector of Montligeon, Fr. Paul Denizot, offers insight of this critical topic; at the mike of Guillaume Desanges for RCF (French Catholic Radio).

France is one of the European countries the most impacted by suicide, especially among young people and the elderly. We are quite aware of this here the shrine of Montligeon where we host retreats for the bereaved. More and more people who attend have lost a loved one to suicide.

Does the Church condemn suicide?

It is essential to differentiate the person from the act. The act of suicide is objectively serious because life is first and foremost a gift that I receive. I am not its owner but its steward. Suicide is a form of pride, of taking power over my life.

Suicide is above all a sin against God. Furthermore it is a sin against oneself. An act of lack of self-love, which sometimes goes as far as self-hatred. It is also a sin against others, kin, relatives, friends, society, even if one may have not reflected upon the consequences of such an act. One could leave numerous letters of explanations, nevertheless the fact is that committing suicide generates much suffering and grief for the people left behind: pain, disgust, guilt, despair, all so difficult to overcome. We are witnesses of all of that here in Montligeon.

Suicide is in opposition with human beings’ vital impulse. If I kill myself, I go against this deep inclination of life, inscribed in my heart.

Why are there so many suicides among the young and the elderly?

In France, young people suicide is the second leading cause of death among the 15-25 age group. Various reasons can explain this significant rate, such as the loss of meaning. If I can’t envisage a future, if I can’t project myself forward, what is the purpose of my life? Deceit in love can lead some people to suicide when they have a somewhat romantic vision of love, or when they idealize the loved one to the point of making him or her the focus of their life. When they break up, the whole of their life falls to pieces. Frustration is another trigger: if I am opposed and defied, I may kill myself to punish myself and others.

There is also a high suicide rate among the elderly. This questions the recognition we and our society give to our elders, what do we do for aging people, their role as much as their frailty? In other cultures, the elderly are considered as men and women of wisdom and repositories of human experience. They are an integral part of social order. As in individualistic societies, the trend is to push them aside, neglect their experience considered as negligible and leave them isolated. The ensuing feeling of uselessness can lead some people to seek and end their lives.

When we see the difficulties that some people accumulate, isn’t it tempting to end it all?

The gravity of suicide must be considered in the light of with what a person may be undergoing: psychological disorder, serious depression, over-indebtedness, love setbacks, troubles with the law, etc. Thus diminishing the person’s responsibility. Most people do not commit suicide out of envy or defiance, but because they can’t take it anymore. Once more, it is an open question to all of us about our capacity to take fragility into account, and accompany the aging.

Isn’t suicide commonplace nowadays?

In a culture described by Pope Francis as a “culture of waste”, the trivialization of suicide is tantamount to telling people that they are useless, that they have no future, and that, on the contrary, they have the right to pass on. However, suicide is a failure, an abyssal despair!

Is the person who dies by suicide saved?

Here in Montligeon, we are frequently asked: “What becomes of the person?” Yes indeed, suicide is a serious sin, but the Church reminds us with much potency that we must never despair of the salvation of the person who has taken his or her own life (Catechism of the Catholic Church n°2283). In a mysterious way God offers a means of salvation to each human being.

A woman had gone to the Curé of Ars. She was worried about her husband who had committed suicide and wanted to know if he was in hell. The holy Curé answered her: “Between the bridge and the water, there is the mercy of God.”

Let us entrust those who have taken their own lives to the mercy of God and let us trust in it. Let us pray for them, for only God can assess hearts, and knows everyone, intimately. He judges and knows.

RCF program “Les sanctuaires normands” (shrines of Normandy) is broadcasted on Tuesdays at 7:15 pm. https://rcf.fr/spiritualite/les-sanctuaires-normands

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most read posts

Notre-Dame Libératrice

Prayer to Our Lady of Montligeon

Our Lady of Deliverance, Have compassion on all our departed,Especially those who are most in need of the Lord’s mercy.Intercede for all those who have gone before usAnd may the purifying love of God lead them to full deliverance.May our prayer, united with the prayer […]

Read post

Resurrection, reincarnation, what’s the difference?

Reincarnation or metempsychosis are trendy in our Western societies. These beliefs steeped in Buddhism and Hinduism confess an afterlife and a righteousness that rewards our acts at the end of our earthly life. This assertion is shared by the Christian faith in the resurrection. However, […]

Read post

To see also

Inscription à
la fraternité

>

Continue reading

drapeau breton

The prayer of Montligeon in Breton

Can one pray to Our Lady of Montligeon in Breton? The prayer to Our Lady of Montligeon was translated in breton and offered to the shrine by Tiegezh Santez Anna (Saint Ann’s Family in Breton), a private association of faithful located in the diocese of […]

Lire l'article

Have we been created for death?

Have we been created for death? On one hand, death revolts us. On the other, if we look at nature, it is obviously part of our world. Is death inevitable and absurd? Or should we consider it differently? Letting my husband or my child go […]

Lire l'article

What can one do after the demise of a beloved? Encounter Oliver.

What can one do after the demise of a beloved? Four months after his spouse’s demise, Oliver travelled with his children from Ivory Coast to Montligeon. Why make such a step? Why come to Montligeon? Listen to his testimony. Why make such a step? Four […]

Lire l'article
Subscribe to the newsletter
X
X

Quelle espérance après le suicide d’un proche ?

14 septembre 2022

Partagez sur Facebook Partagez sur Twitter Envoyer le code par e-mail Imprimer

Le suicide est un acte grave, cependant l’Église nous invite à ne pas désespérer du salut des personnes qui se sont donné la mort et à prier pour elles. L’Église condamne-t-elle le suicide ? Ces personnes sont-elles sauvées ?  Don Paul Denizot analyse cette situation douloureuse avec Guillaume Desanges pour RCF.

La France est l’un des pays d’Europe où l’on se suicide le plus, en particulier chez les jeunes et les personnes âgées. Nous le remarquons à Montligeon où nous accueillons dans les haltes-deuil de plus en plus de personnes qui ont perdu un proche par suicide.

L’Église condamne-t-elle le suicide ?

Il faut toujours distinguer la personne et l’acte. L’acte du suicide est objectivement grave car la vie est d’abord un don que je reçois. Je n’en suis pas le propriétaire mais l’intendant. Le suicide est une forme d’orgueil, de prise de pouvoir sur ma vie.

Le suicide est d’abord un péché par rapport à Dieu. Il est encore un péché par rapport à soi-même. C’est un acte de manque d’amour de soi, qui va parfois jusqu’à l’auto détestation. C’est aussi un péché contre les autres, la famille, les amis, la société, même si on n’a pas forcément pensé aux conséquences de cet acte. On pourrait laisser toutes les lettres d’explication possibles, le fait de se suicider fait du mal aux autres : blessure, dégoût, culpabilité, désespérance, difficiles à surmonter. Nous en sommes bien témoins ici à Montligeon.

Le suicide s’oppose à l’élan vital de l’homme. Si je me donne la mort, je vais contre cette inclination profonde de vie, inscrite dans mon cœur.

Pourquoi tant de suicides chez les jeunes et les personnes âgées ?

En France le suicide des jeunes est la deuxième cause de mortalité des 15-25 ans. Il peut s’expliquer par différentes causes. La perte de sens : si je ne vois aucun avenir, si je ne peux pas me projeter vers l’avant, quel est le sens de ma vie ? La déception amoureuse : elle peut mener certaines personnes au suicide si elles ont une vision un peu romantique de l’amour et si elles idéalisent l’être aimé au point d’en faire le tout de leur vie. Si elles s’en séparent, c’est toute leur vie qui s’écroule. La frustration aussi : si on me résiste, je peux me donner la mort pour me punir et punir les autres.

Il y a également un fort taux de suicide chez les personnes âgées. Mais qu’en est-il de la reconnaissance de nos aînés, de l’accompagnement de la vieillesse et de la fragilité ? Dans d’autres sociétés, ils sont considérés comme des sages et des dépositaires de l’expérience humaine. Ils font partie à part entière de la société. Dans une société individualiste, on a plutôt tendance à les mettre de côté, à considérer leur expérience comme négligeable et à les isoler. Un sentiment d’inutilité en résulte, qui peut conduire certains à vouloir en finir avec la vie.

Quand on voit les difficultés que certaines personnes cumulent, n’est-il pas tentant d’en finir ?

La gravité du suicide est à mettre en perspective avec ce que peut vivre une personne : trouble psychologique, grave dépression, situation de surendettement, rupture amoureuse, problème avec la justice, par exemple. Ceci peut atténuer sa responsabilité. La plupart des personnes ne se suicident pas par envie ou par défi, mais parce qu’elles n’en peuvent plus. Cela nous interroge à nouveau sur notre capacité à accompagner la fragilité.

Le suicide n’est-il pas banalisé aujourd’hui ?

Dans une culture qualifiée de « culture du déchet » par le pape François, la banalisation du suicide revient à dire aux personnes qu’elles sont inutiles, qu’elles n’ont pas d’avenir et qu’au contraire, c’est un droit de partir. Mais c’est un échec, une profonde désespérance !

La personne qui meurt par suicide est-elle sauvée ?

La question : « Que devient la personne ? » nous est posée fréquemment ici à Montligeon. Oui, le suicide est un péché grave mais l’Église rappelle de manière très forte qu’il ne faut jamais désespérer du salut de celui qui s’est donné la mort (catéchisme de l’Eglise catholique n°2283). Dieu offre à chacun de manière mystérieuse un moyen de salut.

Une femme était allée voir le curé d’Ars. Elle s’inquiétait pour son mari qui s’était suicidé et voulait savoir s’il était en enfer. Le saint curé lui répondit : « Entre le pont et l’eau, il y a la miséricorde de Dieu. » Confions ceux qui se sont donné la mort à la miséricorde de Dieu et espérons en cette miséricorde. Prions pour eux, car il n’y a que Dieu qui sonde le cœur de l’homme, qui le connaît intimement. C’est lui qui juge et qui sait.

L’émission “Les sanctuaires normands” de RCF Orne-Calvados-Manche est diffusée les mardis à 19h15. https://rcf.fr/spiritualite/les-sanctuaires-normands

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

Articles les plus lus

Notre-Dame Libératrice

Prière à Notre-Dame Libératrice

Notre-Dame Libératrice Prends en pitié tous nos frères défunts,spécialement ceux qui ont le plus besoinde la miséricorde du Seigneur.Intercède pour tous ceux qui nous ont quittésafin que s’achève en euxl’oeuvre de l’amour qui purifie.Que notre prière, unie à celle de toute l’Église,leur obtienne la joie […]

Lire l'article
don Martin Viviès : voir ma vie avec les yeux de Jésus

Indulgence : voir ma vie avec les yeux de Jésus

Péché, contrition, pardon, indulgence… Quelles réalités derrière ces mots techniques ? Comment expérimenter concrètement ces notions dans ma vie et les transformer par l’amour de Jésus ? Explications de don Martin Viviès, chapelain au sanctuaire Notre-Dame de Montligeon. Pourquoi avons-nous besoin d’indulgences ? Nous avons besoin d’indulgences […]

Lire l'article

A voir aussi

Inscription à
la fraternité

>

Poursuivez la lecture

Le deuil, soeur Cécile de la Nouvelle Alliance

Consolation et réconfort après un deuil : 7 sessions par an au sanctuaire de Montligeon

Rencontre avec Sœur Cécile, prieure de La communauté de la Nouvelle Alliance pour comprendre le sens d’une pause deuil à Notre-Dame de Montligeon. Après ce grand tremblement de terre intérieur que provoque un deuil, résonnant dans toutes les dimensions de nos vies, le sanctuaire de […]

Lire l'article
Radio Notre-Dame : Le chemin du deuil, c’est un chemin qui va vers le don - En quête de sens du 27/04/2021

Comment surmonter le deuil de son enfant ? En quête de sens sur Radio Notre-Dame

Dans un nouveau numéro d’En quête de sens, Marie-Ange de Montesquieu était accompagnée de Dorothée Leurent, qui a perdu son fils et raconte son chemin vers la résilience dans « Les chemins de la résilience » (Trédaniel), Martine Spiesserest, psychothérapeute, addictologue et instructrice de « […]

Lire l'article
Don Pierre Gazeau

Jugement dernier, une bonne nouvelle ?

Si certains appréhendent fortement le moment du jugement dernier, d’autres sûrement moins nombreux y voient une bonne nouvelle… Qu’est-ce que le jugement dernier ? Est-il normal d’en avoir peur ? Au micro de Guillaumes Desanges pour RCF, don Pierre Gazeau éclaire cette question eschatologique aux […]

Lire l'article
S’inscrire à la newsletter
X
X