Emerging from mourning

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Send by mail Print
(c)Sanctuaire-N-D-de-Montligeon

One day or another, we’ll all be confronted to the death of a loved one, young or old, whether due to a natural end of one’s life, or to illness, a tragic accident, suicide, etc. No matter what, death is always sorrowful, and mourning seems impossible at times. What Christian approach and what hope can be offered when faced with the harsh trial of separation ? Can one really get through mourning?


The shrine of Our Lady of Montligeon, world unique center of prayer for the deceased, presents mourning related sessions throughout the year. Affording bereaved people a welcoming comforting break, they allow for counselling, guiding and consolation in light of Christian hope.

At the shrine, we specifically pray for all departed. However, we also tender to bereaved people. Listening and counselling are the core ministry.

All mourning sessions are facilitated by the chaplains of the shrine, priests of the Community of St Martin, communauté Saint-Martin and by the nuns of the New Convenant, soeurs de la Nouvelle Alliance, serving the shrine. 

Why come to Montligeon?

Presenting Montligeon mourning sessions: Sr. Cecilia of the Community of the New Convenant

The demise of a loved one triggered off an inner seism affecting your whole life. Why not come and stay at the shrine of Montligeon. It provides respite for body and soul, and will support you on the way to recovery.

Types of mourning related sessions provided at the shrine:

The “Comforting Halts”: 2 days

The “Comforting Halts” take place over 2 days (2 overnight stays at the shrine). They afford tuitions and guidance on the various phases of the mourning process and on Christian hope. The program schedules individual counselling, partaking in divine office, Mass, and casual exchanges. In relation with the shrine agenda some of these sessions might present a more specific theme, such as mourning a beloved who committed suicide, or subsequently to the demise of a child (in case of unborn children, special dates are regularly programmed at the shrine).

Rev. Fr. Don Bertrand Lesoing speaking on “What hope following the demise of a loved one?” The mourning sessions rely on 4 sections: counselling and expression, prayer times for your deceased, tuitions, and experiencing the prevailing brotherly spirit at the shrine of Our Lady of Montligeon, in order to resume hope.

Pilgrims witnessing

Yves Loiseleur, visited the shrine after the demise of his wife Anne-Marie (July 2020)
Sylvie on pilgrimage further to her daughters’, Anna & Marion, demise (Nov. 2020).

2021 Comforting Halts

Following the demise of a loved one. What hope?

Online registration is open: click on the date of your choice and follow instructions.

The “Mourning Consolation Weeks”: 5 days

  • The “Mourning Consolation Week” sessions are scheduled over 5 days. They afford tuitions and guidance on the various phases of the mourning process and on Christian hope. The program schedules individual counselling, partaking in divine office, Mass, and casual exchanges. They are meant for people who have experienced bereavement at least nine months previously.

2021 Consolation Weeks

Online registration is open: click on the date of your choice and follow instructions.

About Our Lady of Deliverance &
the nuns of the shrine

Sr. Cecilia, nun of the Community of the New Convenant

Who do these sessions address?

Adults or young people aged 16 and above.

In the midst of utter suffering,
joy is possible

Sr. Cecilia, nun of the Community of the New Convenant

How is the Mourning Consolation Week organized?

by Marie-Aimée, Community of the New Convenant.

Such a session is earmarked by participants. It is indeed a unique moment devoted to reading over their personal mourning experience, receiving guidelines on such a devastating period of their life, together with tuitions on death and the afterlife.
The prayer environment prevailing at the shrine, together with the support afforded by both religious communities in charge of facilitating the shrine spiritual activities significantly help alleviate this critical time.

Do participants easily speak of their bereavement?

It differs from one person to another, for each mourning experience is unique. For some, relating a special demise will generate recalling others from the past, and a need to share about them. Communicating leads to a tangible inner liberation in view of the locked-in emotions and guilt that associate with this ordeal.

Emerging from mourning ?

Suffering causes many inner tensions. Even though the absence of the loved one remains painful, when they weaken and our spiritual heart opens up to divine light, owing to experiencing relevant counselling and the help of the sacraments, peace from above, alike rising sunlight, comes and irradiates our gloom. 

Heartbreaking mourning

Can one really “get through” mourning? Rev. Fr. Don Bertrand Lesoing, priest of the Community of Saint-Martin

How do you get to the spiritual meaning of such an ordeal?

By reading the Scriptures. Indeed they relate numerous mourning situations. The very life of Christ and the Gospel unfold teachings to ponder upon, for one: “I am the resurrection and the life; whoever believes in me, even if he dies, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die” (John 11,25) .

Describe a typical day shedule

The day starts with participating in the Lauds sung by the nuns. Late afternoon, before Vespers, a quiet time before the exposed Eucharist allows for a break to abandon in silence all that cannot be expressed by words, such as the sheer weight of pain.
Every evening the nuns of the New Convenant then propose participants to partake in a prayer vigile purposely initiated to help participants give sense to their mourning.
In addition, throughout the week, they have free time for prayer, two tuitions a day (on the various phases of mourning, and on death and the afterlife), an individual counselling exchange with a priest or a nun; not forgetting breaks and meals afford them casual exchanges with their session peers.


It is never too late to do good to our departed ones

On top of all the spiritual retreats and the November Heaven’s Pilgrimages (taking place every year and devoted to praying for the deceased), the shrine proposes a variety of approaches to help you enter the mystery of the communion of Saints.

Enroll your beloved in the Fraternity of Montligeon (Perpetual Mass)

Montligeon is not a mere pilgrimage destination but a vast spiritual fraternity as well, bringing living and deceased people together. People enrolled in the spiritual Montligeon Fraternity benefit from the daily perpetual Mass celebrated to their intent at the Shrine and in various places worldwide by means of its associate members. Funded by Fr. Buguet at the beginning of his charitable endeavours, its members amount nowadays to millions.

Enrolling in the Fraternity of Montligeon witnesses to our belief that bonds of love unite us all, even beyond death. It represents a tangible way of expressing our faith and hope, that we can do good to others, even when death do us part.

Say “Thank you”
or “Forgive me”
to a deceased

We hope to meet again with all our loved ones! Death is separation. Bonds seem severed, once and for all. Yet, by faith, we enter into a new type of relation with our deceased, that of a deep spiritual communion, nurtured by our prayer and anchored in our faith of being one day reunited together. In Montligeon, the proposed practical gesture to say “Thank you” or “Sorry” to one’s deceased seeks to tangibly manifest our faith in the effective communion of Saints.

The cards are freely available at the shrine, or for downloading here under. Fill it in, and return it to the shrine, we will deposit it in the “Petitions box” beneath the statue of Our Lady of Deliverance, at the shrine basilica.


Praying with Montligeon,
whilst in mourning

Join the sanctuary prayer while remaining at home 

To help you accompany a loved one dying without the opportunity of your being present, or to support you through with experiencing bereavement and having to remain away from the funerals, the shrine of Montligeon proposes two booklets of prayers, for private individual, or family use.
To download our special prayer booklets, click on button below and choose from our (free) downloads page:

4 podcasts on eternal life

Throughout the year, the shrine chaplains try and answer questions on death and the afterlife, by diffusing free short and accessible audio podcasts to be found on playlist Youtube.

Peut-on communiquer avec les morts ?

Communicating with the dead?

Paradis = ennui ?

Heaven = boredom?

Les morts nous voient-ils ?

Can dead people see us?

Faut-il oublier ses défunts pour
continuer à vivre ?

Forget your deceased & be happy?


Articles & Testimonies

Parler de la mort et du deuil à ses enfants (Speaking to one’s children )

Parents d’un enfant qui n’a pas vu le jour : le deuil impossible ? (Parents of an unborn child: forever bereaved?

Une chapelle pour les tout-petits défunts (At the shrine, the chapel devoted to the unborn and the very young children)

Mourning session calendar for the coming months

mai, 2021

Catégorie d'événements

événements passés et à venir

Subscribe to the newsletter
X
X

Traverser le deuil

Partagez sur Facebook Partagez sur Twitter Envoyer le code par e-mail Imprimer

Fin de vie, maladie, accident, suicide, perte d’un enfant… nous sommes tous confrontés à un moment de notre vie à la perte d’un proche. La mort est toujours douloureuse et le deuil semble parfois impossible. Quel regard chrétien et quelle espérance pendant cette épreuve de la séparation ? Peut-on réellement « faire son deuil » ?


Le Sanctuaire Notre-Dame de Montligeon, centre mondial de prière pour les défunts, vous propose tout au long de l’année, au travers de sessions d’accompagnement du deuil, un temps de repos, d’écoute et de consolation, à la lumière de la foi chrétienne.

Au Sanctuaire Notre-Dame de Montligeon, nous prions tout particulièrement pour tous ceux qui nous ont quitté. Mais nous n’oublions pas pour autant ceux qui vivent l’épreuve de la séparation. L’accueil, l’écoute et l’accompagnement des personnes en deuil sont au coeur de la mission du sanctuaire.

Ces sessions sont ouvertes à tous et sont animées par des chapelains de la communauté Saint-Martin et des soeurs de la Nouvelle Alliance au service du Sanctuaire. 

Pourquoi venir à Montligeon ?

Le deuil : présentation des sessions d’accompagnement avec Sœur Cécile de la communauté de la Nouvelle Alliance

Après ce grand tremblement de terre intérieur que provoque un deuil, résonnant dans toutes les dimensions de nos vies, le sanctuaire de Montligeon offre un lieu de repos du corps et de l’âme pour commencer à se relever.

Deux types de sessions vous sont proposés :

Les “Haltes Réconfort Deuil” : 2 jours

Les “Haltes Réconfort Deuil”, qui se déroulent sur 2 jours (2 nuits au sanctuaire). Au programme : des enseignements sur les étapes du deuil et sur l’espérance chrétienne, des temps d’écoute, de prière et de rencontres. Certaines de ces sessions peuvent avoir un thème plus spécifique selon les dates proposées dans notre agenda – Ex : deuil après le suicide d’un proche, après la mort d’un enfant (pour les enfants qui n’ont jamais vu le jour, voir la Journée de prière pour les tout-petits défunts)…

Don Bertrand Lesoing : Quelle espérance après la mort d’un proche ? Ces sessions deuil reposent sur quatre piliers : des temps d’écoute et de paroles, des temps de prière pour votre défunt, des temps d’enseignements et enfin un esprit de fraternité pour retrouver l’Espérance au sanctuaire Notre-Dame de Montligeon.

Témoignages de pèlerins

Yves Loiseleur, en pèlerinage pour son épouse Anne-Marie (Juil. 2020)
Sylvie, en pèlerinage pour ses filles Anna et Marion (nov. 2020).

Haltes 2020

Quelle espérance après la mort d’un proche ?

Inscrivez-vous en ligne à une halte réconfort deuil. Cliquez sur la date de votre choix et suivez les instructions.

Haltes 2021

Quelle espérance après la mort d’un proche ?

Inscrivez-vous en ligne à une halte réconfort deuil. Cliquez sur la date de votre choix et suivez les instructions.

Les “Semaine Consolation Deuil” : 5 jours

  • Les “Semaine Consolation Deuil”, qui se déroulent sur 5 jours. Au programme : des enseignements sur les étapes du deuil et sur l’espérance chrétienne, des temps d’écoute, de prière et de rencontres. Elles sont prévues pour des personnes dont le deuil remonte à 9 mois ou plus

Semaines 2020

Inscrivez-vous en ligne à la Semaine consolation deuil. Cliquez sur la date de votre choix et suivez les instructions.

Semaines 2021

Inscrivez-vous en ligne à la Semaine consolation deuil. Cliquez sur la date de votre choix et suivez les instructions.

Le rôle des sœurs
et de Marie Libératrice

Sœur Cécile de la communauté de la Nouvelle Alliance

A qui s’adressent ces sessions ?

Plutôt à des adultes ou de jeunes adultes à partir de 16/17 ans.

Au cœur de la souffrance,
une joie possible

Sœur Cécile de la communauté de la Nouvelle Alliance

Comment s’organise la session Semaine de consolation deuil ?

Par sœur Marie-Aimée, communauté de la Nouvelle Alliance.

Cette session est un moment très important dans la vie des participants : un temps unique dédié à la relecture de leur vécu personnel du deuil, à l’écoute des exposés tant sur cette étape douloureuse de la vie que sur la mort et l’au-delà.
Ce cheminement qui se fait souvent dans les larmes est grandement apaisé par le climat de prière du sanctuaire où deux communautés vivent et animent la vie spirituelle.

Les participants parlent-ils facilement de leur deuil ?

Cela varie d’une personne à l’autre car chaque deuil est unique. Pour certains, parler d’un deuil précis va réveiller la mémoire de plusieurs deuils passés et la nécessité d’en parler. Parler conduit à une véritable libération intérieure compte tenu du poids des émotions et des culpabilités qui accompagnent souvent cette épreuve.

Comment se vit ce passage de l’obscurité à la Lumière ?

 De multiples tensions nous habitent, liées à la souffrance ; lorsque ces tensions s’apaisent et que s’ouvre le cœur spirituel à la lumière divine, grâce à l’accompagnement vécu, aux sacrements, même si l’absence de l’être cher reste douloureuse, une paix qui vient d’en haut, comme la lumière du soleil levant vient éclairer notre nuit.

Le deuil, blessure du cœur, blessure d’amour

Peut-on “faire son deuil” ? Don Bertrand Lesoing, prêtre de la communauté de Saint-Martin, nous parle de cette “blessure du coeur”.

Comment donnez-vous un sens spirituel à cette épreuve ?

En nous mettant à l’écoute de la Parole de Dieu : en effet, les situations de deuil sont nombreuses dans les récits de la Bible. La vie du Christ elle-même nous enseigne sur la traversée du deuil et les évangiles nous donnent des Paroles à méditer telles que : « Celui qui croit en Moi, même s’il meurt, vivra » (jn.11,25) par exemple.

Déroulement d’une journée

Chaque journée commence par les louanges chantées par les sœurs tandis qu’en fin d’après-midi, un temps de présence silencieuse auprès de l’Eucharistie exposée précédant les vêpres, permet de vivre une pause et de « déposer », dans le silence qui va au-delà des mots, le poids de la peine.
Chaque soir, les sœurs de la Nouvelle Alliance invitent les participants de la session à participer à une petite veillée conçue spécialement pour eux afin de les aider à donner sens au vécu du deuil.
Les participants bénéficient en plus des temps de prière, de deux exposés (sur les étapes du deuil et sur la mort et l’au-delà), un temps de parole chaque jour dans un accueil individuel auprès d’un prêtre ou d’une sœur, des moments de détente, de partages avec les autres membres de la session.


Il n’est jamais trop tard pour toucher le coeur d’un proche,
même après la mort

En plus des retraites proposées tout au long de l’année et des grands Pèlerinages du Ciel (pèlerinages qui ont lieux chaque année sur le mois de novembre portant sur la prière pour les défunts), le Sanctuaire propose différentes démarches qui vous permettront d’entrer dans le mystère de la communion des saints.

Inscrire un Défunt à la Fraternité de Montligeon (messe perpétuelle)

Montligeon n’est pas seulement un lieu de pèlerinage. C’est aussi une grande fraternité spirituelle qui regroupe des vivants et des défunts : les personnes inscrites à la Fraternité de Montligeon bénéficient de la messe perpétuelle et quotidienne célébrée au Sanctuaire, et dans d’autres lieux du monde. Fondée dès l’origine de l’Œuvre de l’abbé Buguet, elle compte aujourd’hui plusieurs millions de membres.

Cette démarche d’inscription à la Fraternité témoigne que nous croyons que les lieux d’amours nous unissent tous, y compris au-delà de la mort. Elle est le signe d’une espérance profonde, celle que nous pouvons nous faire du bien les uns aux autres, même quand la mort nous sépare.

Dire merci ou pardon à un défunt

Nous espérons tous retrouver un jour ceux que nous avons aimés ! La mort est une séparation. Les liens semblent à tout jamais rompus. Mais, dans la foi, nous entrons dans une nouvelle relation avec nos défunts : une profonde communion spirituelle portée par notre prière et l’espérance de nous retrouver un jour. À Montligeon, une démarche concrète pour poser un merci ou un pardon vis-à-vis d’un défunt exprime notre foi en la puissance de la communion des saints.

Ces cartes sont mises à disposition gratuitement au sanctuaire. Si vous ne pouvez pas vous déplacer, nous pouvons procéder à un envoi postal. Une fois les cartes remplies et retournées au sanctuaire, nous les déposons pour vous aux pieds de Notre-Dame Libératrice.


Prier avec Montligeon,
au moment du deuil

Rejoignez la prière du sanctuaire tout en restant chez vous.

Pour vous aider à vivre à distance les obsèques d’un proche, ou pour vous aider à accompagner un proche sur le point de mourir, le sanctuaire de Montligeon vous propose deux livrets de prière, à utiliser seul, en couple ou en famille.
Pour télécharger nos livrets de prière, rendez vous sur la page téléchargement :

Les enseignements du sanctuaire sur la vie éternelle

Tout au long de l’année, les chapelains du Sanctuaire publient des podcasts audio gratuits aux formats courts et accessibles, pour tenter de répondre à des questions concrètes sur la mort et l’au-delà. N’hésitez pas à les consulter sur notre playlist Youtube.


Articles & Témoignages

Parler de la mort et du deuil à ses enfants

Parents d’un enfant qui n’a pas vu le jour : le deuil impossible ?

Une chapelle pour les tout-petits défunts

Calendrier des sessions deuil
des 12 prochains mois

événements passés et à venir

Catégorie d'événements

novembre

Pas d'événement

décembre

Pas d'événement

janvier

20jan(jan 20)19 h 00 min22(jan 22)16 h 00 minHalte réconfort deuilQuelle espérance après la mort d'un proche ?

février

08fév(fév 8)11 h 30 min12(fév 12)17 h 00 minSemaine consolation deuilTrouver écoute - consolation et espérance après un décès.

mars

19mar(mar 19)19 h 00 min21(mar 21)16 h 00 minHalte réconfort deuilQuelle espérance après la mort d\\'un proche ?

avril

Pas d'événement

mai

Pas d'événement

juin

23juin(juin 23)19 h 00 min25(juin 25)16 h 00 minHalte réconfort deuilQuelle espérance après la mort d'un proche ?

juillet

Pas d'événement

août

Pas d'événement

septembre

15sept(sept 15)19 h 00 min17(sept 17)16 h 00 minHalte réconfort deuilQuelle espérance après la mort d\\'un proche ?

octobre

Pas d'événement

S’inscrire à la newsletter
X
X