Resurrection, reincarnation, what’s the difference?

10 September 2021

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Send by mail Imprimer

Reincarnation or metempsychosis are trendy in our Western societies. These beliefs steeped in Buddhism and Hinduism confess an afterlife and a righteousness that rewards our acts at the end of our earthly life. This assertion is shared by the Christian faith in the resurrection. However, are reincarnation and resurrection exactly the same? What are the differences between resurrection and reincarnation? Rev. Fr. Don Paul Denizot, answers Guillaume Desanges for RCF Radio.

Reincarnation and resurrection presuppose life after death

Reincarnation and resurrection presuppose the existence of an afterlife. Christians call it eternal life. For Hindus and Buddhists, reincarnation leads to nirvāna. It is a state of extinction of human desire and dissolution of oneself and one’s ego in the Great Whole. For a Christian, on the opposite, resurrection is the state of full completion, whereby I shall be wholly myself.

Interestingly, Western-style idea of reincarnation is most romantic. Those who believe in it are most keen in explaining how, in a previous life, they were either a general in the army of Alexander the Great or even a Persian courtesan! They disregard that for Eastern creeds, reincarnation is a curse one is doomed to until one reaches the total eradication of one’s desires.

Assertion of a time of necessary purification is another point of convergence between reincarnation and faith in the resurrection. The former refers to the cycle of purification by means of successive lives; whilst with regards to the latter, Christian faith confesses the existence of purgatory, a time (out of our cosmological time) whereby the soul undergoes preparation in view of entering full communion with the Lord. Yet, in purgatory, one remains totally oneself, and moreover, one gradually becomes what one is called to fully be in God’s plan of love.

Both reincarnation and resurrection assert belief in retribution of our acts in the afterlife

What we do here has weight beyond. Both Eastern and Christian faiths believe it. They also assert the existence of retribution, but are not alike.

Let us take an illustration: that of a child born with some disability. The fatalistic reincarnation creed will support that such infirmity is the consequence of a fault, which occurred in a previous life. What was the fault? We won’t know.

Jesus frees us from fatalism and from the temptation that now and then emerges in the Old Testament: “What have I done to the good Lord? “

He uncovers that the blindness of the man born blind whom He heals, neither due to his fault nor to that of his parents, and that his handicap is not the result of divine retribution. Moreover, divine revelation discloses that divine justice is always edifying, so as to mysteriously help those whom God loves mature.

For Christians, a wasted existence is a life that rejects God till the end. But the Gospel explains that until the very moment of death we can receive grace and be converted. Thus the cry of the Good Thief, crucified beside Jesus: “Jesus, remember me when you come to your Kingdom” and the remarkable response of Christ: “Today you will be with me in paradise”, it establishes that one’s life can be successful by making of his death a success.

The resurrection does not erase the whole of our life

Reincarnation is severe. It states that when life is over, it all vanishes and one moves on (to another life in a new body). But what of my relations, of my love for my mother, for my children, for my friends?

In the Christian faith, eternal life does not entail depersonalization or the loss of bonds of love or of relationships. I remain myself and I remain an individual with relations. Relationships built here on earth bear eternal weight. Relationships built in love are bound to last … forever. Most comforting and reassuring considerations!

In partnership with RCF for
“Les sanctuaires Normands” broadcasted on Tuesdaysat 07:15 pm
https://rcf.fr/spiritualite/les-sanctuaires-normands

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most read posts

Have we been created for death?

Have we been created for death? On one hand, death revolts us. On the other, if we look at nature, it is obviously part of our world. Is death inevitable and absurd? Or should we consider it differently? Letting my husband or my child go […]

Read post
Don Thomas Lapenne au micro de Guillaume Desanges pour RCF.

What becomes of love after death?

Death is scandalous. It is not meant to be associated with humane love for, when one loves, it is forever! What becomes of love after death? Is it severed once and for all? Rev. Fr. Don Thomas answers, at Guillaume Desanges for the French catholic […]

Read post

To see also

Inscription à
la fraternité

>

Continue reading

Does Resurrection change life?

The resurrection of Christ is a truth of faith. Yet, in what tangible manner does the resurrection change my life? Does it alter anything as far as my body is concerned, or in my way of relating to others? Can resurrection help me when I […]

Lire l'article

Angels and demons, what role do they play?

The Church has always recognized the existence of angels and demons. Yet, what incidence do they have in our lives? Can a demon influence us and bring us to do evil? Can a good angel protect us and help us do good? Do good angels […]

Lire l'article
Pilgrimage to St Joseph on 19th March 2021

2021: A Year of Saint Joseph

Pope Francis declared 2021 a year dedicated to St Joseph. Here in Montligeon, two special pilgrimages on 19th March and on 1st May took place. Individuals, families, or groups, came to the one-day retreat events and entrusted their petitions, to Saint Joseph for family, health, or work. You too can come and do the same, any time you wish.

Lire l'article
Subscribe to the newsletter
X
X

Résurrection et réincarnation, quelles différences ?

10 septembre 2021

Partagez sur Facebook Partagez sur Twitter Envoyer le code par e-mail Imprimer

La réincarnation ou la métempsychose sont très en vogue dans nos sociétés occidentales. Ces croyances imprégnées de bouddhisme et d’hindouisme confessent une vie après la mort et une justice qui rétribue nos actes au terme de notre vie terrestre. Cette affirmation est partagée par la foi chrétienne en la résurrection. Cependant, réincarnation et résurrection, est-ce exactement la même chose ? Quelles sont les différences entre résurrection et réincarnation ? Réponse de don Paul Denizot, au micro de Guillaume Desanges pour RCF.

Réincarnation et résurrection supposent une vie après la mort

Réincarnation et résurrection supposent l’existence d’une vie après la mort. Les chrétiens l’appellent la vie éternelle. Pour les hindous et les bouddhistes, la réincarnation mène au nirvāna. C’est un état d’extinction du désir humain qui entraîne la fin du cycle des réincarnations par la dissolution dans le Grand tout et une disparition du moi. Au contraire, dans la résurrection je serai pleinement moi.

Il est intéressant de constater que la réincarnation à l’occidentale est très romantique. Ceux qui y croient se félicitent par exemple d’avoir été dans une vie antérieure, un général de l’armée d’Alexandre ou une courtisane perse ! Ils oublient que pour les croyances orientales, la réincarnation est une malédiction et qu’elle continue tant que l’on n’atteint pas l’extinction complète de ses désirs.

Un autre point de convergence entre réincarnation et foi en la résurrection est l’affirmation d’un temps de purification nécessaire. Dans le premier cas, il s’agit d’un cycle de purification par des vies successives. La foi chrétienne confesse pour sa part l’existence du purgatoire, un temps (qui n’est pas notre temps cosmologique) où l’âme est préparée à la communion plénière avec le Seigneur. Mais au purgatoire, la personne reste totalement elle-même, elle devient même progressivement ce qu’elle est appelée à être pleinement dans le plan d’amour de Dieu.

La réincarnation et la résurrection affirment l’existence d’une justice qui rétribue nos actes

Ce que nous faisons ici-bas, a un poids pour l’au-delà. Les sagesses orientales et le christianisme le croient. Ils affirment également l’existence d’une justice mais qui n’est pas la même.

Prenons l’exemple d’un enfant avec un handicap de naissance. La croyance fataliste en la réincarnation, expliquera que cette maladie est la conséquence d’une erreur commise dans une vie antérieure. Quelle est cette erreur ? Nous n’en savons rien.

Jésus nous libère du fatalisme et de cette tentation qui traverse parfois l’Ancien testament : « Qu’est ce que j’ai fait au bon Dieu ? »

Il nous révèle que l’aveugle-né qu’il guérit, est aveugle, non par sa faute, ni par celle de ses parents. Que son handicap n’est pas la conséquence d’une sanction divine. De plus, la révélation nous montre que la justice divine est toujours pédagogue, pour faire mystérieusement grandir ceux que Dieu aime.

Pour le christianisme, une vie ratée est une vie qui refuse Dieu jusqu’à la fin. Mais l’Evangile nous enseigne que jusqu’au moment de la mort nous pouvons accueillir la grâce et nous convertir. Ainsi le cri du Bon Larron, crucifié avec Jésus : « Jésus, souviens-toi de moi quand tu viendras dans ton Royaume » et la réponse inouïe du Christ : « Aujourd’hui, tu seras avec moi dans le paradis », nous montrent qu’on peut réussir sa vie en réussissant sa mort.

La résurrection n’efface pas toute notre vie

La réincarnation est dure. Elle affirme qu’une fois la vie terminée, tout s’efface et on passe à autre chose (une autre vie dans un nouveau corps). Mais qu’advient-il des relations, de mon amour pour ma mère, pour mes enfants, mes amis ?

Pour la foi chrétienne, la vie éternelle n’entraîne pas une dépersonnalisation ou une disparition des liens d’amour et des relations. Je reste moi-même et je reste un être de relation. Toutes les relations que je construis ici-bas ont un poids d’éternité. Les relations construites dans l’amour sont appelées à durer… pour toujours. C’est très réconfortant et consolant.

Entretien réalisé en partenariat avec RCF pour l’émission
“Les sanctuaires Normands” diffusée les mardis à 19h15
https://rcf.fr/spiritualite/les-sanctuaires-normands

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Articles les plus lus

Saint Joseph

6 occasions de recevoir une indulgence plénière pour l’année Saint Joseph

Le pape François a proclamé une année Saint Joseph le 8 décembre 2020 pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la proclamation de saint Joseph comme patron de l’Église universelle. Quelles sont les 6 occasions d’obtenir les indulgences plénières décrétées par le pape ? Le pape François […]

Lire l'article
Marie - Session famille pour parents solos à Notre-Dame de Montligeon

Marie – Session famille pour parents solos

Seuls, séparés, divorcés ou veufs, ils sont venus passer une semaine de vacances. Aujourd’hui se termine la semaine consacrée aux parents solos au sanctuaire de Montligeon. Ils témoignent.

Lire l'article

A voir aussi

Inscription à
la fraternité

>

Poursuivez la lecture

Prions avec Notre-Dame Libératrice

Un mois de prière pour les défunts et les âmes du purgatoire avec le sanctuaire de Montligeon sur Hozana

Le mois de novembre est traditionnellement consacré dans l’Église à la prière pour les défunts. A cette occasion, voulez-vous prendre soin de vos défunts en priant pour eux ? Voici deux propositions sur Hozana, le réseau social de prière chrétien : trente jours de prière […]

Lire l'article

Sessions famille 2021 : ouverture des préinscriptions le 19 février

Cette année les préinscriptions seront nécessaires pour participer aux sessions familles 2021 à Montligeon . Vous êtes très nombreux à vouloir venir passer des vacances en famille à Montligeon et nous en sommes très heureux. Pour donner leur chance à des familles qui ne connaissent […]

Lire l'article

Départ de Montligeon de la 2ème édition du pélé VTT de l’Eure & Loire

Ce lundi 22 juillet au matin, ils étaient une cinquantaine de jeunes du diocèse de Chartres à partir en vélo de Montligeon dans le cadre de la deuxième édition du pélé VTT de l’Eure & Loire. Arrivée prévue à Chartres vendredi dans l’après-midi, à raison […]

Lire l'article
S’inscrire à la newsletter
X
X